• Stat Counter

    • 17,614

Really? The devotion? I want it noted, ok?

indexstock-c-331505.jpg

So rather than slob down in front of the TV on my 11 o’clock break and watch Y&R, I have been lacing up the kicks and going for a lovely walk in which I listen to my iPod and basically enjoy some relative peace before I come back here and tough out another few hours of work. I believe I mentioned this but it helps me immensely with my energy level and being that I am pretty much always in need of some sleep, I really need to hunker down and do this daily. As it is now, I am managing to shove it out 4-5 days a week, with one of those days being a longer walk of 4 miles. Go me.

Anyway, here the weather has been, how you say, not cooperative. Well, today, as the clock ticked closer and closer to the witching hour of 11 AM, the sky got gray. Hmmmm, says I. Well, whatever. I will zip up to the track and do what I can. I walk outside and it’s humid as SHIT. (Again, WHY do I live here?) Awesome. I was really kinda pleased about this because really? My hair? It just can’t get frizzy enough so I do appreciate Mother Nature kicking in and doing her part. So thanks.

Bitch.

I make it up to the track and am zipping along nicely. Then I hear telltale thunder. Shit. I had spoken to hubs and knew it was raining crazily across the river so I reassured myself that ya know, sound, like, travels and surely that’s what I was hearing. Thunderstorms way across the river. Over there. Not here. Surely.

Ahem.

On my second to last lap around the track o’ death, I feel it. Drop. Drop drop. And then it let loose, drooooooooooooooooooooppppppp.

Well shit. At this point, I figure fuck it and just had one last lap to go and as much as I may claim to be sweet as pie, I won’t melt in the rain, ok? So I forged on.

In finishing that final lap, I slog back to my car with wet clothes, wet(ter) hair and the awesome combo of sweat mixed with rain. Fab.

I have to say I am proud of myself for sticking it out. I am not one for braving the elements so I did a little patting of myself on the back on the way home.

Go me.

Now where are the chocolate chip cookies I baked last night?

5 Responses

  1. Definitely Go You! I don’t have this blog addy at work hence I had to comment from home.
    Seriously I would have kept my lazy ass indoors at the first hint of grey sky. I suck.

  2. You did more than me. If it even remotely looked like rain I wouldn’t have gone out in it. Good for you for going!

  3. Seriously? You are toooo good. Should have stayed home and had another poptart. We enjoyed some in “smores” flavor last night…

  4. Hold Star for you!

  5. Wow, I’m impressed with how hardcore you are running in the rain! Though I have to admit, I’m envious that you have humidity and rain compared to bitter winds and snow. The grass is always greener!

Leave a Reply

